Recovering Compensation for You While You Recover From Your Injuries
The carelessness of one person can change your whole life — with one abrupt stop, too-wide turn, or drive through a stop sign, a negligent driver can cause years of financial and emotional distress to another driver and their loved ones.
The North Port car accident lawyers of Frohlich, Gordon & Beason, P.A. are dedicated to helping the victims of negligence recover from the impact of a driver’s recklessness. If you were injured in a car accident, contact us today. We understand the immense burden that is facing your family and want to make the legal process as seamless as possible.
To schedule a free consultation with our legal team, call (941) 979-9010 or complete our contact form.
Negligence in Florida
Florida is a no-fault state, so injured drivers must file a claim with their own insurance provider in order to recover compensation for their accident-related damages.
Negligence laws in Florida follow the principle of comparative negligence. In states with comparative negligence laws, compensation for injury victims is reduced according to each driver’s degree of fault. Courts who evaluate car accident cases attempt to attribute a percentage that exemplifies the level of liability each driver holds in a car accident.
A court may decide that the total damages caused by a collision equate to $100,000. However, the victim would not be able to recover the full $100,000 if they are found partially at fault in a state that follows comparative negligence laws. If the court decides the victim’s actions were 30% at fault for the collision, their payment would be reduced by that amount ($30,000). So, they would only receive $70,000 of the total damages.
Do I Need a Car Accident Lawyer?
Although injury victims are able to negotiate with their own insurance company following a collision, hiring an attorney is still a necessity. It is possible that your insurance provider will deny or undervalue your claim. Our car accident lawyers in North Port can help you establish the fault of the other driver so your payment is not reduced unjustly.
Florida Car Accident Statute of Limitations
People who are injured in a car accident in the state of Florida have four years from the date of the collision to pursue a legal claim. If a case is fatal, the statute of limitations for a wrongful death claim is two years after the accident date. Claims that are filed outside of the statute of limitations are likely to be dismissed.
Car Accident Claims Damages
Collisions that result in injury cause more than physical damage — the effects of a car accident are extensive. In addition to medical debt, car accidents can result in other costs, both financial and emotional.
Car accidents can result in damages such as:
A car accident claim can result in the reimbursement of expenses you have already paid, as well as provide payment that anticipates future expenses. It is possible that a car accident settlement or verdict will provide for non-economic damages too, such as pain and suffering.
Contact Us for a Free Case Evaluation
At Frohlich, Gordon & Beason, P.A., our legal team is committed to recovering just compensation for the victims of negligent drivers. We are prepared to discuss your case, so you can understand your rights following a car accident.
Send us a messageor call (941) 979-9010 to schedule a free case evaluation with our North Port car accident attorneys.